Home WWE champions- List, Records, Stat, and Championships
Sports WWE

WWE champions- List, Records, Stat, and Championships

WWE champions

Top Reasons Why People Secretly love Wwe Champions -The WWE Championship is regarded as one of the most historic championships in WWE history. The WWE Championship was first awarded to Buddy Rogers in 1963.  He defeated Antonino Rocca in the finals of a tournament in April. After the legendary winning, numerous participants have gained the title that includes celebs like Bruno Sammartino, Andre the Giant, Bret Hart, The Rock and “Stone Cold” Steve Austin.

This is a world heavyweight championship created and promoted by the American professional wrestling promotion WWE.  It is one of three world titles in WWE co-existing with the WWE Universal Championship on SmackDown and the NXT Championship on NXT.

Statistics of champions

Brock Lesnar is the current WWE Champion in his fifth reign. During 2019, on 4 October, during SmackDown 20th Anniversary in Los Angeles, California, he defeated Kofi Kingston to win the title. Thereafter on the 1st November episode of SmackDown, he quit the band and went to RAW, to take back the title from him.

 And there have been 51 different official champions to date. Let us have a quick look at the stats of a few who are different from the rest:-

·         The longest reigning champion of WWE is Bruno Sammartino.  He held the title of WWE Champion from May 17, 1963, to January 18, 1971, for a total of 2,803 days (7 years, 8 months, and 1 day)

·         Sammartino holds the record for the longest combined reign at 4,040 days.

·         André the Giant is the shortest reigning champion. He officially held the title for 1 minute, 48 seconds.  

·         The youngest champion is Brock Lesnar. He won the title at the age of 25.

·         The oldest champion of WWE is Mr. McMahon. He won it at the age of 54.

·         John Cena holds the record for most reigns with 13.

Eight men have held the championship for a continuous reign of one year or more:

·         Bruno Sammartino (has achieved the feat on two separate occasions)

·         Pedro Morales

·         Bob Backlund

·         Hulk Hogan

·         Randy Savage

·         John Cena

·         CM Punk

·         AJ Styles.

List of top 20 WWE champions is as follows

WWE champions- List, Records, Stat, and Championships
ChampionDate of reignDays  
Brock LesnarOCT 4, 2019PRESENT  95 days  
Kofi KingstonAPR 7, 2019  OCT 4,2019 – 180 days  
Daniel BryanNOV 13, 2018 – APR 7, 2019 144 days
AJ StylesNOV 7, 2017 – NOV 13, 2018 371 days
Jinder Mahal   MAY 21, 2017 – NOV 7, 2017 169 days 
Randy Orton  APR 2, 2017 – MAY 21, 2017 49 days  
John Cena             JAN 29, 2017 – FEB 12, 2017       14 days   
AJ Styles  SEP 11, 2016 – JAN 29, 2017 139 days 
Dean Ambrose         Jun 19, 2016- Sep 11, 201683 days  
Seth Rollins JUN 19, 2016<1 day 
 Roman Reigns APR 3, 2016 – JUN 19, 2016 76 days 
Triple H JAN 24, 2016 – APR 3, 2016 69 days 
Roman ReignsDEC 14, 2015 – JAN 24, 2016 40 days
SheamusNOV 22, 2015 – DEC 14, 201522 days          
Roman ReignsNOV 22, 2015<1day  
Seth RollinsMAR 29, 2015 – NOV 4, 2015 219 days
Brock LesnarAUG 17, 2014 – MAR 29, 2015 223 days
John CenaJUN 29, 2014 – AUG 17, 2014 49 days
Daniel BryanAPR 6, 2014 – JUN 9, 2014 63 days
Randy OrtonOCT 27, 2013 – APR 6, 2014 160 days


 Most Reigns

John Cena (10 Reigns)

First Champion

Buddy Rogers

Longest Reign

Bruno Sammartino (2803 Days)

Shortest Reign –

Andre the Giant (30 Seconds

Oldest Champion –

Mr.McMahon (54 Years, 21 Days)

Youngest Champion –

Brock Lesnar (25 Years, 44 Days)

Heaviest Champion –

Yokozuna (575 lb – 261 kg)

Lightest Champion –

Rey Mysterio (175 lb – 79 kg)

Days that current champion held

CM Punk (359 Days)

Highest Combined Reign –

Bruno Sammartino (4,040 Days)


Most Reigns

Edge (7 Reigns)

First Champion – Triple H

Longest Reign

Batista (282 Days)

Shortest Reign

Big Show (45 Seconds)

Oldest Champion

Undertaker ( 44 Years,194 Days)

Youngest Champion

Randy Orton (24 Years, 194 Days)

Heaviest Champion

Big show (441 lb, 200 kg)

Lightest Champion

Rey Mysterio (170 lb, 77 kg)

Days that current champion held

Big Show (16)

Highest Combined Reign

Triple H (616 Days)

WWE has presented a WWE Championship belt to winners of the

·         World Series

·         Super Bowl

·         NBA Finals

·         FIFA Women’s World Cup

·         College Football Playoff National Championship

·         Stanley Cup Finals

·         Australian Open

·         Premier League

·         Bundesliga

·         Indian Premier League

·         Liga MX

·         Argentine Primera División

·         Major League Baseball Home Run Derby

·         Formula One World Championship

·         UEFA Champions League

·         Overwatch League

·         Cricket World Cup

·         and Men’s US Open

Originally, The WWE had presented custom WWE Championships to winners in both male and female sports.  But in 2018, they began presenting female participants of the sports with custom WWE Raw Women’s Championship belts.

Historical background of WWE Championship

·         Present WWE Championship was established by the then-World Wide Wrestling Federation (WWWF) on April 25, 1963, as the WWWF World Heavyweight Championship.

·         Buddy Rogers became the inauguration champion.

·         The title has undergone many name changes due to company name changes and title unification.

·         WWE Championship is the oldest championship currently active in the WWE.

·         It is presented as being the promotion’s most prestigious title.

·         Many matches for the WWE Championship title have been headlined pay-per-view events – including WWE’s flagship event WrestleMania.

·         In professional wrestling, WWE Championship is considered by many to be one of the most prestigious championships of all time.

Other names for WWE Championship have been:-

·         WWWF World Heavyweight Championship (1963–1971)

·         WWWF Heavyweight Championship (1971–1979)

·         WWF Heavyweight Championship (1979–1983)

·         WWF World Heavyweight Championship (1983–1998)

·         WWF Championship (1998–2001)

·         Undisputed WWF Championship (2001–2002)

·         Undisputed WWE Championship (2002)

·         WWE Undisputed Championship (2002)

·         WWE Championship (2002–2013, 2016–present)

·         WWE World Heavyweight Championship (2013–2016)

·         WWE World Championship (2016)

Brock Edward Lesnar – The latest WWE champion

He is an American professional wrestler. Formerly he has been a mixed, martial artist and professional football player. He is currently signed to WWE. He performs on its Raw brand and is the current WWE Champion in his fifth reign. In an article printed in 2015, on ESPN.com, Lesnar has been referred to as “the most accomplished athlete in professional wrestling history”.

(image source google search)

About the author

Dewakar Pandey

Hi there! Welcome to Information Mania a website where you can find the latest and interesting blogs and articles hope you will like it and support us.

As we are growing and learning new things every day and also trying to share that with all of you in our post and blogs. I love to hear your suggestions and ideas in the comments!

contact us: [email protected]

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment